Creston, Butte Teams Bring Home the Big Sky Bonspiel Gold

From Friday, April 5th at at 4pm through Sunday at noon 35 teams from all over Montana, as well as Idaho, Washington, British Columbia, North Dakota, Utah and Washington, D.C. battled it out on the ice, while keeping things social in the beer garden.

Games were competitive and hard-fought (and the ice was about the best we have ever had.

And the event was a classy affair. Awesome music in the beer garden on Saturday night, non-stop curling throughout the day and even some formal, black-tie curling on Sheet C.

The Winners

When the rocks were all thrown we had two great teams emerge as the victors.

The 2019 Big Sky Bonspiel Champions (Open Division)

In the Open Division, Creston, B.C.’s Rockin’ Robins were triumphant. Cathy Robins, Maurice Robins, Kelly Moberg and Dale Moberg (with the help of alternate Sandy Thompson) played four solid games.

In the 5-and-Under Division for teams with less experience, Butte, Mont.’s own Avoca Lakers ran the board in their last year in the division.

2019 Big Sky Bonspiel Champions (5-and-under Division)

The Avoca Lakers, skipped by John Babcock, included Malcolm Neill, Kerry Sacry and Laura Surratt battled Missoula’s Taken for Granite team to win the less experienced division.

Other teams also performed well, winning the B Brackets and C Brackets in both divisions:

Big Sky Bonspiel Open Division B Bracket Winners Purple People Rockers (Butte, Mont.). (Team members: Bill Fulton, Patty Fulton, Andy Bobst and Judy Flammang)
Big Sky Bonspiel Open Division C Bracket Winners The Bee Team (Bismark, N.D.) (Team members: Dan Buresh, Michelle Wagner, Ben Sand and Dan Marsh)
Big Sky Bonspiel 5-and-Under B Bracket winners Curly Fries (Missoula, Mont.). (Team members: Troy Adam, Jordan Jolly, Breann Adam and Marc Binney)

Big Sky Bonspiel 5-and-Under Division C Bracket Winners That Escalated Quickly (Bozeman, Mont.). (Team members: Zeb Barber, Ben Zehntner, Jesse Langley and CJ Williams)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *